The conviction of Tom Hayes in the first UK LIBOR trial (click here to read more) is a watershed moment. It’s a big win for the SFO, although it must be said that a more damning book of evidence could not be imagined. The judge’s sentencing remarks (link to judiciary.gov.uk) repay detailed study. Hayes received 14 years, one of the heaviest sentences on record for this offence. The judge’s summary reads like a case-study of how an accused should not behave, both before and after they are accused.

We will have more to say on this and similar cases in due course. For now it suffices to say that the huge profile of the trial and the very heavy sentence mean that a clear message is going to the dealing rooms and the C-suites of the City of London: Fraud is fraud. Financial professionals don’t get special treatment. Clever people who try to “play” the judicial system like they did the markets risk total disaster.

Key Regulatory Contacts

Chris Borg
+44 (0)20 3116 3650
cborg@reedsmith.com

Claude Brown
+44 (0)20 3116 3662
cbrown@reedsmith.com

George Brown
+44 (0)20 3116 2849
gbrown@reedsmith.com

Rob Falkner
+44 (0)20 3116 2980
rfalkner@reedsmith.com

Marjorie C. Holmes
+44 (0)20 3116 2986
mholmes@reedsmith.com

Charles Hewetson
+44 (0)20 3116 2976
chewetson@reedsmith.com

Brett Hillis
+44 (0)20 3116 2992
bhillis@reedsmith.com

Eoin O’Shea
+44 (0)20 3116 3794
eoshea@reedsmith.com

Rosanne Kay
+44 (0)20 3116 3414
rkay@reedsmith.com

Edward S. Miller
+44 (0)20 3116 3470
emiller@reedsmith.com

Prajakt Samant
+44 (0)20 3116 2915
psamant@reedsmith.com

Suzie Savage
+ 44 (0)20 3116 3565
ssavage@reedsmith.com

 Tom Webley
+44 (0)20 3116 3631
twebley@reedsmith.com